UP’s solar power project gets 155 hectare land

Posted · Add Comment

UP Govt

The 600MW solar park project of UP government has inched a step closer to reality with revenue department allocating around 155 hectare land for the purpose in Mirzapur.The project, conceptualised under Centre’s solar park policy, is proposed to come up after integrating solar power installations in four districts—Jalaun, Allahabad, Mirzapur and Sonebhadra. The one in Mirzapur is proposed to have a total capacity of 100MW, while those in Jalaun, Allahabad and Sonbhadra will have a capacity of 350MW, 50MW and 100MW, respectively.Revenue department notification issued on March 31 cites allocation of 154.882 hectares of land in Vijayapur village of Mirzapur for the project. Parthsarthi Sen Sharma, secretary to CM, told TOI that the arrangement of land in Jalaun and Allahabad is almost done, while work in Sonbhadra is underway. “The project is being fast-tracked. It is already one of the few solar park projects in the country in advance stage of implementation,” said Sharma, who is also secretary, New Energy Development Authority (Neda).The solar park project is a joint venture of Solar Energy Corporation of India (SECI) and UP government. SECI, a non-profit company set up in 2011 under the administrative control of the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, in fact, would be the agency through which central financial assistance (CFA) of Rs 20 lakh per Mw will be channelised for solar park projects across the country.UP happens to have one such project among the 20 others proposed to be set up in states like Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Karnataka. The Charanka solar park, with an installed capacity of 700MW, is already in operational stage in Banaskantha district of Gujarat. In fact, MNRE through this scheme plans to have solar parks, each with a capacity of 500 to 1,000MW, thereby targeting around 20,000MW of solar power installed capacity.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *